She & Him

Vinyl Records and Rare LPs:

She & Him - Volume One Volume One
Pop New - LP MRG324 Merge
Sealed 2008 180gm Gatefold Vinyl. She Is Actress Zooey Deschanel, Him Is Alt-Singer/Songwriter M. Ward. The Two Met On The Set Of A Movie, Found Some Musical Common Ground, And Began Working Together. Volume One Is The Resulting Album And It's One Of The Better Albums Ever Made By A Movie Star, Male Or Female. Good Enough That It Even Heads Off The Obligatory Suspicions That She Only Got To Make A Record Because She Was A Hollywood Star. After A Few Spins Of The Album One Could Make A Compelling Case That Deschanel Could Quit Her Day Job, Or At Least Justifiably Call Herself An Actress/Musician. The Common Ground That The Duo Found And Explore On Volume One Is A Kind Of Magical Place Where Light-'60s Pop Meets Strummy Country Tunes And Candy-Coated Folk, A Mythical Meeting Place Between Sandie Shaw And Tammy Wynette With Cameos By Richard & Linda Thompson. Deschanel's Songs Are Simple And Sad Tales Of Heartbreak And Missed Connections, With Hooky Melodies And Not A Single Artless Moment To Be Found. For Sure There's Not A Single Instance That Sounds Like She Got The Gig Because Of Who She Is, Instead Of What She Can Do. Even If Her Songs Were Weak, Her Strong, Assured Vocals Would Carry The Day. Sweet And Rich With No Annoying Folky Warble, She Can Croon ("Take It Back"), Cry ("Sentimental Heart"), Be Playful (The Bubblegum Snappy "I Was Made For You"), Or Just Sweep You Off Your Feet With Sweetness ("Sweet Darlin'). As For Ward, He Keeps His Quirks Mostly To Himself, Providing Sympathetic Backing Unadorned By The Kind Of Tricks And Gimmicks That Make His Own Albums Slightly Uneven. The Occasional Whistle Here Or Slightly Unconventional String Arrangement There Are The Only Traces Of His Artistry On Volume One. The Rest Of The Time He And The Band Create A Soft, Gentle Feel Equally Inspired By The Brill Building And The Countrypolitan Sound Of Nashville In The Late '50s." - Tim Sendra, AMG... more details
She & Him - Volume 3 Volume 3
Pop New - LP MRG474 Merge
Sealed 2013 Deluxe 180gm Original With Custom Hype Sticker On Shrink. “Always Looking Backward To The Sunny Sounds Of The '60s, She & Him Often Feel Like A Band Out Of Time, A Pair Of Pop Dreamers Born Too Late To Be A Part Of The Musical Scene They've Painstakingly Crafted A Pastiche Of With Their Third Album, Volume 3. Like The Previous Two Volumes, The Album Finds Collaborators Zooey Deschanel And M. Ward Diving Headfirst Into The Sunny, Lovestruck Sounds Of Brill Building Pop With A Splash Of Country Twang For Good Measure. While This Means The Album Doesn't Do A Lot To Distinguish Itself From The Pair's Early Efforts, It Certainly Doesn't Diminish Its Effortlessly Enjoyable Sound. In A Way, This Kind Of Anonymity Seems Like A Part Of The Bands M.O. Sure, Both Of The Players Here Are Famous In Their Own Right, But Rather Than Slap Their Names On The Album, They Gave The Project A Perfectly Pleasant, Albeit Generic Name. And Rather Than Giving The Albums A Cute Title, They're Given The Archival Title Of "Volume." All This Speaks To A Desire To Simply Let The Music Exist On Its Own, Classically Pop, Terms, Allowing Listeners To Get Swept Up In A Song Like "I Could've Been Your Girl" Not Because It Has That Lady From The Movies In It, But Because It's The Kind Of Breezy, Melancholy Pop That's Really Easy To Fall In Love With. Three Albums (Plus A Christmas Record) In, You're Either On Board With What She & Him Are Doing Or You Aren't, And If You're Stone-Hearted Enough To Not Be Into The Band By Now, Volume 3 Isn't Likely To Sway You. However, For Those Of You Already Caught In The Band's Spider Web Of Eternal Summer, This Album Delivers The Goods.” – Gregory Heaney. AMG... more details
She & Him - A Very She & Him Christmas A Very She & Him Christmas
Christmas New - LP MRG424 Merge
Sealed 2011 Original With Custom Hype Sticker On Shrink. 12 Christmas Classics From The Adorable Duo.... more details
She & Him - Volume Two Volume Two
Pop New - LP MRG 354 Merge
Sealed 2010 180gm Original.... more details
She & Him - Christmas Party Christmas Party
Christmas New - LP 88985371561 Columbia
Sealed 2016 Original With Custom Hype Sticker On Shrink. She & Him (The Sublime Duo Of Zooey Deschanel And M. Ward) Offer Up Their Second Holiday Themed Collection With Christmas Party, The Sequel To Their Acclaimed 2011 Release A Very She & Him Christmas. The Uplifting 12-Track Set Features Guest Appearances By Jenny Lewis, The Chapin Sisters, Sonic Youth's Steve Shelley And Jim Keltner Amidst Stylized Renditions Of "Let It Snow," "Winter Wonderland," "Run Rudolph Run," And "Mele Kalikimaka." Mariah Carey's "All I Want For Christmas Is You," Is Also Updated Wonderfully Here.... more details

154433 Items in DB



Y Z        
0 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9    


- Accessory
- Bluegrass
- Blues
- Broadway
- Cajun
- Choral
- Christmas
- Classical
- Comedy
- Country
- Disco
- Electronic
- Flamenco
- Folk
- Funk
- Gospel
- Heavy Metal
- Hip Hop
- Indian
- Jazz
- Musical
- New Age
- Opera
- Pop
- Prog
- Psych
- Punk
- Rap
- Reggae
- Rockabilly
- Soul
- Sound Effects
- Soundtrack
- Spoken Word
- Test - LP
- World